Steampunk Canada

Tie up Your Dirigible and Visit for a Spell

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > Steampunk social structure

Alice Blacktail Keys

Hello everyone.

Im new to steampunk and i was sondering what the social structure is for it like is it like Victorian's upper, middle and lower class and what would be in said classes in there social world.

Im asking because im creating two steampunk prosonas a Pirate, im pretty good with where she would be with in a social structure since iv seen a lot of pirate movies and read about them a lot, and the other i wanted to be a younge 14 -16 year old girl that would be in the upper class but im not sure what that would involve what kind of work would her parents do, how much money would they make and what kind of obligations would she have.

If someone could help me out to understand some of this better so i can create her background properly i would be very greatful. 

--

June 19, 2012 at 10:32 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Stuart

well, at its root, yes, steampunk would mimic the social structures of say 1840-1902 (+/- a decade).  On the flipside, the punk part means a noticeable focus on the fringes of society.  I guess what I'm saying is yes, both are viable options that would fit into a normally defined victorian style society.  I can answer more questions if you want to

--

June 19, 2012 at 10:39 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Lee Ann Farruga
Site Owner

Alice, because steampunk is absolutely NOT historically accurate (unless you want it to be) you can take your two ideas and play with them as much as you want.  For your 14-16 yr old persona, you could have her parents own a candy factory with crazy steampunk machines that make the candy.  You can make it up as you go or come up with your whole story at once.  But definitely don't worry that you have to have the class structure exactly historically correct.  Have fun!

--

Canadian Queen of Steampunk. Founder of Steampunk Canada.